Social Media-Blessing or Curse?

Whether people want to admit it or not, social media plays a crucial part in the world as we know it in 2014. Social media is integrated in almost every aspect of my everyday life, it’s how I access the news, it’s how I read about new assignments for this class, it’s how I keep up to date with my favorite sports icons and celebrities, and it’s integrated in the way I communicate with friends, family, and classmates. Because this is the case for so many people, it is not a surprise that there are many ‘haters’ surrounding the world of social media. There are a large number of people in the world that find this type of social interaction ‘creepy’ and ‘unsafe’, and while I don’t disagree with that to some degree, I also believe that social media is a blessing more than a curse.

Although I try not to admit this out loud, social media plays a major role in my everyday life. Now that doesn’t mean that I post status updates on a daily basis about the different foods I have been trying, or about how cute my dog is (although she is very cute). In fact after doing some in-depth research and scrolling through years of countless memories, I found out that the last status I posted was on November 1, 2011 and to this day it still continues to be one of the most important status updates I have ever posted.

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 12.59.15 PM

This story starts a long time ago on September 24, 1993, when the pilot episode of Boy Meets World aired on national television for the first time. Boy Meets World followed a 13 year-old child named Cory Matthew’s as he grows up and faces a variety of everyday problems involving his friends, family and school. The story centered around Cory and his relationship with his family, his best friend Shawn, his girlfriend Topanga, and his nosy next door neighbor who happened to be his history teacher. The show ran on national television for 7 years, and within that time period they were able to gain a substantial cult following of fans. But the fandom didn’t end when the show end, ABC family and Disney continued to play re-runs of the show for my entire life.

The show told classic stories and has taught me numerous life lessons about growing up that I still hold on to today, and because I was such a big fan of the show, during my first year at Western I convinced (forced) my roommates to dress up as the cast of Boy Meets World.

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 1.12.34 PM

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 1.12.56 PM

The next day I decided to go out on a limb and tweet a picture of the original cast and our remake of the picture to Danielle Fishel, the actress that played Topanga Lawrence. Then about 30 minutes later something remarkable happened, Topganga tweeted me back and retweeted the picture of my friends and I. As most of you can imagine, my mind was blown. With just the click of a button I was able to reach out to my childhood crush. While I do believe social media certainly has its downfall, I also believe that the positive aspects of social media are often times overlooked.

Since 2011, Boy Meets World has began to grow in popularity again. Social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Buzzfeed, and Tumblr has thousands of fan pages and hundreds of articles written about the cast and the iconic roles they played. In 2012 both ABC Family and MTV2 began showing re-runs of BMW on a daily basis.

All of a sudden when I though BMW hit it’s peak, it became even more of a trending topic when Ben Savage and Danielle Fishel announced they were going to reprise their roles as Cory and Topanga in a Disney sitcom about their 13 year old daughter. The show, which is due to air in January of 2014, is created by the BMW’s original creator Michael Jacobs, who has openly said that the reason behind the new show was the overwhelming support of the original. In an extended interview with Good Morning America Michael Jacobs and the cast explained how special they felt that social media was able to keep the spirit of the show alive.

I have been looking for a way to integrate Boy Meets World into my blog for quite some time now so that felt good, but back to the world of social media.

Leave a Reply

